Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Donut Holes & The Next Big Thing

Happy Wednesday! Today I'm visiting my lovely friend, Eleni Konstantine over at her Taverna in her Writing Buddy Wednesday slot. Find out what I'm up to at the moment and what's in my immediate future (apart from donut holes and coffee...) (no I cannot tell a lie. Donut holes and coffee are always in my immediate future...)

I've been tagged in The Next Big Thing by fellow Aussie author Alison Stuart who writes fabulous time travel romances and historical novels set during the seventeenth century. Allison's latest release from Lyrical Press is Gather the Bones, descibed as Downtown Abbey with ghosts, from Lyrical Press. 

I'm instructed to tell you all about my next book by answering these questions and then to tag between three to five other authors about their Next Big Thing. So here I go!

What is the working title of your next book?

Archangel of Mercy

Where did the idea come from for the book?

It was very odd. After a random comment from my good friend Eleni Konstantine about a new publishing line opening up, this image of a moody, Alpha Archangel just appeared in my mind. He was alone on the outer edge of the universe and refused to either leave my muse alone, or open up and let me know his story for about five years!

What genre does your book fall under?

Erotic Paranormal Romance

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

No idea. I will leave that up to my readers to imagine! (although I could have a lot of fun auditioning actors to play Gabe! (all in the name of research. I suffer for my art).

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Between an angel and a desperate woman comes salvation - and a raw passion that challenges them at every turn.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Archangel of Mercy is published by Penguin's Berkley Heat line and hits the shelves on 4th December 2012.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

This book started out as a novella many years ago and gradually evolved into a full length after several rewrites. So the short answer is - a very long time!!!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

This book, and the others in the series, are about fallen archangels and the women who capture their hearts. Laurie London,, author of The Sweetblood series, said this about Archangel of Mercy:

"Archangel Of Mercy would appeal to readers who enjoy Nalini Singh and JR Ward. Dark, gritty and erotic. I loved it!”

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

A random comment by a writing buddy, the haunting image of a solitary Archangel on the edge of the universe and the Mayan long calendar :-) 

What else about your book might pique the reader's interest?

If you enjoy tortured Alpha heroes, fallen bad ass archangels, sizzling sex and merciless villains then you might enjoy Archangel of Mercy!

I've tagged some of my fellow Romance Writers of the Apocalypse authors to tell you about their Next Big Thing next Wednesday - here are their links so you can check them out!

Maggie Nash - Maggie is doing her Next Big Thing today as well, so pop on over and have a peek!

Shona Husk

Kylie Scott

Monica Enderle Pierce



Alison Stuart said...

Love your one liner...goes to show how important the right tag is!

Hope your next big thing is just that...a BIG thing :-)

Christina Phillips said...

Thanks, Alison! i love that tag line too :-)

Eleni Konstantine said...

Oh, donut holes - is there anything better! :) Oh, yes, your writing!!

Christina Phillips said...

Hahah, Eleni - I like the way you think!!!